Jan 13, 2018, 08:31 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

1/6 scale 45mm build

Hi everyone

Some of you may recall that I'm designing my own 600mm hull [1] and that project is in the back burner at present while I learn some things to make it go better! In the mean time I am practicing with a farbricated construction method that I originated on my first boat [2] where I build a frame and then bond a skin onto it to form the hull. Of course, I haven't invented this by any means, but I am just learning the method and need to practice it before using it on my scratch designed hull.

So I have found a plan for a 1000mm jet [3] on this forum and scaled it to 700mm. It has a slightly deeper V than I woud normaly go for but this will hopefully add to the learning experience. The BermyLizard hull looks really nice in all the videos I have seen of it so I have high hopes that this will behave nicely when complete and allow me to test some of the features that I may wish to include on my 600mm hull.

I am very lucky to have a 45mm pump [4] from Sundogz (which is a beautifully designed piece of equipment) and I will be testing that at the same time. It is paired with a 1600Kv 4465 motor (may switch to a 1000Kv unit) and a 125A esc which will be powered by two 3S packs in series (22.2V)

The 45mm pump is not a perfect fot for this hull in a 700mm scale but instead of making the hull larger I have elected to modify the hull drawing to suit this pump. I have chosen to do this because
1) I would need to go up a sheet size in material which will efectively double the cost of the materials
2) The other hulls this pump is being tested in are of this scale so will give a better comparison
3) The practicality of a really large jet boat (for RC) would be so poor that it would be a pain to put in my car/ walk to the river with etc.