1/4 scale Super Ximango/Fournier RF-10 - RC Groups
Jan 03, 2018, 08:53 AM
Build Log

1/4 scale Super Ximango/Fournier RF-10

Hello folks!

My name is Charles and I live in Brasília, the federal Capital of Brasil!

I am an airline pilot, flying the A320 Airbus family!

In 2018, I will be completing 10 years of my first flight! It was on a Super Ximango motor glider. A plane built by the brasilian Aeromot, based on the french Fournier RF-10.

Before become I pilot, I used to build electric models, mainly using fiberglass. But because of all the studying and high load of work, the builds had to be halted!

But recently, I moved to Brasília where I am based now, and finally have a little bit more of spare time. So, I decided to build from scratch the Ximango!

The scale is 1/4, so the wingspan will be 440cm and fuselage length about 205cm.

I started the project build a 3d model on Blender(blender.org) and printed the sections to cut the MDF to make the plug. Them, I will make the molds.

The model will be built using composite materials and I hope to finish this saga in less than 2 years!

I created a page in Portuguese to post the building process to my friends watch: www.facebook.com/tecnicasdemodelismo.

This is a movie showing the beginning of the construction:
Início da construção do Ximango #01 (2 min 46 sec)

Any comments and help will be very appreciated.

Charles
Last edited by charlespereira; Jan 11, 2018 at 01:13 PM. Reason: Changed from Discussion to Build log
to remove ads between posts
Jan 05, 2018, 09:34 AM

Strip planking

Continuing with the build, I cut the sections of the fuselage and glued on the longitudinal plane.

To get everything as straight as possible, I clamped the fuselage on two sheets of MDF, that were cut with a CNC machine.

And now, the strip planking started. I am using a 4mm plywood.

Chapeamento do Plug da Fuselagem - Construção do Super Ximango #02 (2 min 33 sec)

Charles Pereira
www,facebook,com/tecnicasdemodelismo