Electric Conversion - RC Groups
Dec 29, 2017, 03:53 PM
Discussion

Electric Conversion

So I am really new to building my first RC plane. I have done a lot of research and am sticking with the Sig clipped wing 1/6 model. The model calls for a gas power system. My question is what prevents me from just building it as an electric system?
to remove ads between posts
Dec 29, 2017, 04:10 PM
IMO ( In My Opinion ) →
Quote:
Originally Posted by fsk714
So I am really new to building my first RC plane. I have done a lot of research and am sticking with the Sig clipped wing 1/6 model. The model calls for a gas power system. My question is what prevents me from just building it as an electric system?
There is an RC Groups forum for IC to electric conversions :

https://www.rcgroups.com/glow-to-ele...nversions-247/

If you are in the USA , the quick and easy way is to call Heads Up RC and ask him for an electric motor equivalent to the IC engine your plane calls for .
http://www.headsuphobby.com

Will you be using this plane for first time RC flying ? If so , will you have the assistance of an experienced RC flyer ?
Dec 29, 2017, 05:14 PM
Here to just enjoy the hobby
I did a similar conversion with The World Models 1/6 Paulistinha P-56.

I used a Power 46 size motor with a 4 cell Lipo. You will have to get everything as far forward as possible. I had to put a Harry Higley's Heavy Hub hidden under the spinner to get it balanced.

Good luck. You will enjoy the build and the flying is great fun too.
Latest blog entry: All things that fly.
Dec 29, 2017, 07:59 PM
Thanks, I guess my concern is what if anything prevents me from making it an electric motor? Assuming I get an electric equivalent to the gas size?
Dec 29, 2017, 08:36 PM
IMO ( In My Opinion ) →
Quote:
Thanks, I guess my concern is what if anything prevents me from making it an electric motor? Assuming I get an electric equivalent to the gas size?