Are 3D printed planes worth it? - RC Groups
Dec 22, 2017, 05:15 PM
Ghost Rider the pattern's full
Question

Are 3D printed planes worth it?

Greetings pilots/builders,
I am new to the party having seen the review of 3D lab prints planes on Flight Test.
Not being a builder myself save for that 1st model 30 some years ago, 6 mons to build that box of wood into something resembling an aircraft and only 60 seconds to reduce it to splinters.
Having been back in the hobby for the last 3 ish years and flying only electric foam, I am really enjoying the technical advances in the hobby and still having my original Apprentice trainer in tact I'm light years ahead of where I was 30+ yrs ago.
The idea of making my own plane that doesn't cost the upwards of $600.00 for a 1700mm warbird is very interesting, but is it worth the cost of the printer?

I can see the argument that parts will always remain available so long as one owns the plans and has a printer, but how well do these planes stand up?
How forgiving are they in a crash compared to a little CA or Epoxy and carbon fiber rods and we are flying foam again?

Is there a steep learning curve to print 3D parts?
Does it require much tweaking of the settings if one doesn't buy the high end printer used by 3D lab prints?

Can the material be reused if from crashed parts or do they go into the trash bin?
If not a CAD designer is one limited to the models that have been created by 3D lab prints or is there a larger market?
Not that there is anything wrong with theirs, but if the market dries up, then what?

I would love to hear from those of you who have been flying these for some time and those who have been printing/building, the good the bad and the ugly.

Thanks in advance.

GJS
to remove ads between posts
Dec 22, 2017, 09:50 PM
Experience not required