Dec 04, 2017, 08:02 PM
Jeorge
Thread OP
New Product

Arris X80 RTF

Hey everyone! New kid on the block here!

I’m an Aerospace Engineering student from the UK with a passion for all things flying and RC. Unfortunately, I’ve had to leave most of my larger RC planes and quads at home in the countryside but Micros are slowly taking over my new house. �� I don't discriminate - I love flying Cheersons as much as I do scratchbuilt balsa planes.

I was kindly selected to review the new Arris X80 from Arrishobby and naturally I jumped at the opportunity!

Specifications:

Width: 81mm
Weight: 30g (Battery not included)
Dimension: 38 x 71 x 71mm (Propeller and Antenna are not included)
Motor: 11XX series super light brushless motor
ESC: 4A 1S 4IN1 DSHOT ESCs
Propeller: 56mm propeller and Gemfan 4-leaf propeller
Receiver: Built-in Frsky receiver
Camera: HD 520TVL camera (VM275T)
TX: 25MW, NTSC/PAL is switchable
Flight Time: >10 minutes
Flight Controller Firmware: Betaflight-TINYFISH

Unboxing:

The quad comes in a relatively unassuming black box featuring only the company branding.

Nicely contained within the box we find the drone itself; instructions, prop guards and longer screws for mounting them, Four-bladed props, battery and USB charger (which I wouldn’t recommend using in a PC or Laptop USB port since it draws 0.5A)

Features:

The quadcopter itself is nicely presented and built upon a single plate carbon frame. The build is very utilitarian and we can see that Arris have tried wherever possible to shave every gram of weight from it without compromising strength. I have had the x80 for almost three weeks now and have crashed it in every way imaginable and sure enough, it comes bouncing back for more. The only real 'damage' sustained so far is the loss of the hex nut from the front of the camera mount, but this has not affected it whatsoever.