Wing profile for thermal glider - RC Groups
Dec 04, 2017, 05:19 PM
Discussion

Wing profile for thermal glider

Hi all! My mate and me have the intention to build two identical replicas of the Cormorano, a vintage Italian model glider.
The idea is to change the old fashioned NACA 6412 wing profile with a modern one to improve thermal gliding.
I'm not an expert on the matter and I'm asking your help.
The model has a wing span of 2 meter with a chord of 20 cm and 18 dm2 of wing area. Weight will be about 1.5 Kg.
Which modern profile would you think is a good candidate for thermal gliding?
Thanks.
to remove ads between posts
Dec 04, 2017, 06:11 PM
God Created me to Create
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guizzo 17
Hi all! My mate and me have the intention to build two identical replicas of the Cormorano, a vintage Italian model glider.
The idea is to change the old fashioned NACA 6412 wing profile with a modern one to improve thermal gliding.
I'm not an expert on the matter and I'm asking your help.
The model has a wing span of 2 meter with a chord of 20 cm and 18 dm2 of wing area. Weight will be about 1.5 Kg.
Which modern profile would you think is a good candidate for thermal gliding?
Thanks.
What are the control surfaces?
Dec 04, 2017, 08:15 PM
B for Bruce
The 6412 was thick but also has a lot of camber. So that would imply a slow floating sort of glide. Do you want to retain that? It would cost you in penetration for getting back upwind. Or are you after an airfoil which will give you a bit more speed range?

You should also be able to build any sort of 2 meter vintage glider to well under 1Kg, never mind 1.5Kg. And I would imagine that more like 700 to 800 would be very reasonable. Do you have a link to the plans or a scan of them?
Dec 05, 2017, 04:03 PM
Well, I see my requirements are a bit too vague and even misleading!
First,the model I'm speaking about is quite similar to the one on the following link.
https://static.erowz.com/13/pimg/0/1...DQ3_medium.jpg