complete in-flight motor shutdown in cold teperatures - RC Groups
Nov 11, 2017, 03:06 PM
Lifetime Member
Discussion

complete in-flight motor shutdown in cold teperatures

I recently purchased a quad from the RCGroups for sale listings and have been experiencing complete in-flight motor shutdowns. I am a newbie with CleanFlight/ BetaFlight but have been flying a Traxxas Alias for a long time and have over 20 years of RC aircraft experience.
All appears to work great hovering inside my house but as soon as I bring the quad outside, it fails with complete motor shutdown and will no longer successfully arm. I did some extensive testing to replicate the issue and the only thing I can attribute it to is the colder outside temperatures.
If I hover the quad inside the house to heat up all the components and immediately bring it outside, it will work for about 30 seconds and then exhibit the same problem described above. I haven't yet disassembled the quad but I guess that is my next move. I am hoping to find a cold solder joint, but I expect that it is a component failure. Has anyone experienced an issue like this?
Realacc X210 frame
Rev 6 Naze32 Acro flight controller
Lumenier 20A OPTO Little BLHeli ESCs
Lumenier FXC1806-14 2300 KV motors
Diatone V8.3 LC Filter Power PDB Board
RCX09-180 DSM2/DSMX Spektrum satellite RX
Spektrum DSM2 DX7 (older version) TX
Last edited by JohnM; Nov 11, 2017 at 04:08 PM. Reason: updated title
to remove ads between posts
Nov 11, 2017, 03:23 PM
Fan of just about anything RC
What batteries are you using?
Nov 11, 2017, 03:53 PM
They are 2100 mAh hyperions, 3s. I was the seller on this one and want to do whatever I can to get him going. They are a little puffed but worked OK when I flew it last, which was probably 6 weeks ago. Solo do you think it could be the cold?
Nov 11, 2017, 03:56 PM
Lifetime Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoloProFan
What batteries are you using?