Launching Tips - RC Groups
Nov 10, 2017, 08:34 PM
DFC~ We Do Flyin' Right
Discussion

Launching Tips

So I am still having some trouble launching the Oxy1.5.
I am able to get it in the air, but not at all with the same ease I see others experiencing.

It flies sooo great once it is up in the air, I am hesitant to alter the brake lines... should I be? Is that what is hindering my launch performance?

The canopy never pops up and overhead like I see other PPGs do. Mine will fill, but stays low and behind me. It does not "get on the wing" unless the pilot is released real low, and even then it pendulums like mad trying to catch the canopy up to the pilot.

I am welcome to any guidance and advice
to remove ads between posts
Nov 10, 2017, 10:00 PM
Hi Vapor,

I just completed my second season on my Hacker FREE. I'm self-taught on these wings. Kinda' like I learned to fly basic RC all those years ago. Here's my thoughts:

I watched lots of vids of people launching. I tried to duplicate. It takes practice...lots of practice to get proficient. Broke a handful of props on bad launches when my cage flexed.

My procedure. Fly in a little wind. Maybe 3-5 mph especially with your 1.5. I am right-handed so I lay my wing out flat with the leading edge at the REAR so when I pull, the leading edge pops up first since the lines are shorter. I stand with my right shoulder into the wind so I don't create a "wind shadow" on my wing. Grab the gondola by the bottom.

I quickly pull toward me and throttle up about half way at the top of my arc. I fully extend my launch arm to get the wing as high overhead as I can then release. Throttle management is different on these things. Have to get the feel for what the wing needs.

Hope there is something here you can use.

Regards,
Dave