First Scale Model - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Nov 10, 2017, 10:40 AM
Discussion

First Scale Model

Its been about 20 years since I built a flying balsa model.
At that time I built such planes as the Ugly Stick i.c. and Gentle Lady type planes.
I think that I was a fair builder, but I found non scale subjects boring.
Back to the hobby again, I've built a couple of DTF planes at 42" and 46"
My criteria for advancing in this hobby and graduating to balsa, was the successful flights of my 46"model.
Happily, my flights have been turning out pretty good. Sloppy aerobatics, but I'm getting there.
After about a weeks research I've come up with three airplanes I really would like to build.
The Eastbourne Monoplane, the Fokker E3, and the Bristol M1. All designed by Peter Rake.
My criteria for choosing my next airplane was:
Scale, over 46" wingspan, ease of build, good flight and landing ability, and a build article here on RC Groups.
I understand that the above is dependent on the skills of the flyer/builder.
What I'm looking for is any information that would help me in my final choice.
Anything that would point strongly to one model over the other, either in building or flying.
Any help and guidance in my options would certainly be appreciated.
to remove ads between posts
Nov 10, 2017, 12:26 PM
All your choice suggestions would make for lovely models. No issues there.
Although note that (imo) ww1 models often prove a wee bit more complex builds than first assumed
I might suggest .. you also consider the lowly Piper J3 cub (lotsa plans on outerzone.. find one.. print it out at your desired scale).
I built one a couple years back , wanting a simple relaxing build, also never built previously built one .
It's proven a wonderful toy, unexpectedly, it became one of my favourite models TBH.
Being the quintessential trainer design; Flight can be slow and relaxing/ easy or even mildly aerobatic.. when pushed.