Das Splash - RC Groups
Nov 09, 2017, 05:29 PM
Master of the 1 point landing
Discussion

Das Splash

I have lived on a pond for the past 5 years and have only been flying a Sea Monkey, which requires absolutely still air to fly. I'd like to have something in the 1/2A range that can ROW and can fly in the tight area over the pond.
Now, I am a balsa builder and would like something in balsa that is quick to build and flies well in light wind.
Recently I built a Das Splat, which is a 32" high winger that moves out on a EFlite Park 370. I figured it would be a good air frame to convert to a float plane.

I have never built floats or a float plane. So, this is gonna be a learning experience for me.

I do appreciate helpful advice from those that are experienced in the ways of ROW planes.

Here's the link to the plans:
https://outerzone.co.uk/plan_details.asp?ID=6984

I figured (from looking at other float planes) that 12" floats would be the ideal size for this plane. The fuselage is 27" long.
I scaled these 33" floats down to 36% to get the 12" target:
https://outerzone.co.uk/plan_details.asp?ID=7571

I am calling the float plane version of Das Splat the "Das Splash"...

So, here it goes...
to remove ads between posts
Nov 09, 2017, 05:41 PM
Here's the intended flight area. It's about 30 feet out my back door, and my airplane shop looks out over the pond. It's always there beckoning me to come out and play.

There are some considerations I am taking into account here. There will be considerable weight gain with foats hanging off the fuselage. There will also be considerable drag.

The prototype Das Splat was 17oz with a wingspan of 32.5" and wing loading of 13.5oz/ft.

My Splat is only 13.1oz with wing loading of 10.4oz/ft.

That gives me almost 4 oz to gain to get it to the designed wing loading. However, I will be beefing up the wing a bit, and I am planning to add 1 rib to each wing, adding 3 inches overall and an extra 13sq inches of wing area.