biplane drag - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Nov 09, 2017, 10:07 AM
average user
Discussion

biplane drag

If the wings are farther apart, is drag reduced?
to remove ads between posts
Nov 09, 2017, 10:23 AM
Piscine Promulgator
At least as regards parasitic drag, I don't believe the distance between the wings is as significant as the fact that there are two wings, along with the requisite bracing. That adds up to a lot of drag.

Separating the wings further means that the amount each wing interferes with the airflow (and hence lift) generated by the other is reduced. Positive stagger (top wing ahead of bottom wing) is designed to help reduce the negative influences of this interference, although I don't believe it does much to reduce the amount of induced (through the action of creating lift) or parasitic drag.

However, I am far from an expert on the subject

PS I hope to have the Buzz Bipe flying soon!
Latest blog entry: Of Fish, France, FPV, and Fun!
Nov 09, 2017, 05:54 PM
It's time for me to fly
What about 2 high aspect ratio wings that add up to a similar surface area as a monoplane? No idea, just throwing it out there, maybe a fun experiment. I am an armchair aeronautic engineer
Nov 09, 2017, 06:19 PM
My suspicion is that the same thing that causes "ground effect" to produce a higher L/D
when plane is less than half span from the ground is what causes interference between the two airfoils.
Basically the high pressure under the upper wing interferes with the lower wing's ability to generate
low pressure and accelerate the air over it.

To this point I think that a reverse stagger (lower wing forward of the upper wing) is
better than conventional stagger, and this plane seems to bear that out.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Beck-Mahoney_Sorceress
200mph biplane racer with a 125hp powerplant.

There appears to be quite a number of other reverse stagger biplanes including the
Sopwith Dolphin
Beech Staggerwing,