Best motors, ESC's, batteries? - RC Groups
Nov 08, 2017, 02:49 PM
Discussion

Best motors, ESC's, batteries?

Pretty wide open question, I know. There is so much product available, and so many claims made, what's the consensus? What brands are considered the best of each regardless of cost? Bigger stuff only, equating to nitro, .40 engine size and up.

What brands deliver the best in performance, quality, service?

I'm fairly new to electric, but have flown RC for almost 50 years.

Thank You.
to remove ads between posts
Nov 08, 2017, 08:22 PM
The best motors I've ever used are SCORPION. The best Esc is the Turnigy Plush, especially or the $$$. I've recently bought my first high end batteries, some 6s Revolectrix 4400mah 70c. I've used Zippy's from HK prior with average success. Doug B
Nov 09, 2017, 02:10 AM
Everything you read on the Internet is true -- Winston Churchill (1955)

There will probably be as many different opinions as there are respondents.
Nov 09, 2017, 04:47 AM
An itch?. Scratch build.
What delivers the best performance ?, is a good combination of everything, from the model, to prop, motor, ESC, battery, etc etc, i.e. the whole system, and most importantly, ,,,, the pilot.

There is rarely 'the best' in anything, and just as rarely, 'the worst', except in some individuals opinions.

The easiest way into electric flight is to search and read what others have used in the models you are interested in, and even then you will get variations of what was used.

My personal recommendation would be - only consider converting IC powered model to electric as a last resort, or you may miss the advantages of electric flight. Others may/will disagree, but that's what electrickery is about.

Ray.
Nov 09, 2017, 08:53 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by CLAYSMOKER