MultiWii General Help and Questions - First time building Quad - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Nov 07, 2017, 01:14 AM
Discussion

MultiWii General Help and Questions - First time building Quad

Hello, quick introduction since this is my first post:

Currently an electrical engineering student who is wanting to build a quad-rotor drone for my school project. I have had no prior experience with controllers, Arduino, etc, so excuse my ignorance. I have been trying to figure things out myself but there aren't a lot of resources out there.

This is my first time using a flight controller and Arduino, and am wanting to make sure everything I'm doing is moving in the right direction.

Some technical specs:
Using ATMEGA2560 Processor
Using the Witespy EZ3.0 Pro Board with no GPS Option
Running Windows 10 x64
Don't know what MW firmware my board is using but it's on a dropbox here on my product page:
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/tt3pa4tzdq7wif5/fnsdcnMPPl

First question:
I am not sure if I my board is connected to the right serial port. On my port devices, I am using COM5 which is the Silicon Labs CP210x USB to UART bridge. I believe this is right however since I was able to upload my sketch/code to the board successfully. However, is this all I need to do? Do I need to make sure that the port that I am using corresponds to the physical USB port on my laptop?
i.e COM5 on my laptop is the corresponding USB connection on the right side of my laptop?

Second question:
Now when I am using the MultiWiiConfig (windows64 version), my board does not turn or move with the 3-D figure available on the GUI. It looks like it's just spinning in free air with no direction. I am assuming this is because the gyro + accel, baro, and magnometer are not being supplied with the 3.3V in order to drive them, thus the MultiWiiConfig cannot get data from them?

Third question: