1/4 Scale Cub followed me home from the Model Plane Auction yesterday - RC Groups
Nov 06, 2017, 10:01 PM
Flying again - 4th time
Discussion

1/4 Scale Cub followed me home from the Model Plane Auction yesterday

Went to the annual model plane auction at Wings Over the Rockies Aviation Museum yesterday. This 106", 9.2 lb 1/4 Scale Cub followed me home as I appeared to be the high bidder at $150. OAL is about 57".

I'm gong electric in it. I have had some good luck with Hobby King gear, and I think I'll try a heavier-duty Turnigy motor and some metal gear servos.

1. I'm ready to listen to your suggestions on ESC and cell count. I live @ 5500 feet above MSL and may need a little bit of extra prop. I won't stunt wildly.

2. This is my first giant scale bird. I'm an intermediate pilot. I like warbirds.

3. I might try to find some decals for this monster or make them myself; I would not hesitate to paint the odd fabric coating.

4. I don't know what brand this bird is or how old. Claim was it's never been in the air. Looks like it was not built by a hobbyist as it is really professionally assembled.
to remove ads between posts
Nov 07, 2017, 12:31 AM
Registered Airplane Offender
A hundred and fifty DOLLARS?!?!

It could only be because no one had a car big enough for it! Wow. I'm gonna start showing up when my local club has their auctions!

Seriously fantastic grab. If you need inspirational viewing material for the conversion work, enjoy this!

1946 Piper J3 Cub "Barn Cub" (7 min 1 sec)
Nov 07, 2017, 09:23 AM
I have an old 1/4 scale H9 PA-18 supercub and it flies fine w/ a G26cc. At 1.7kg it has some tail weight in it to balance. I also have a used 1/4 scale H9 J3 that came w/ a G20 but I'm repowering it w/ a Saito FG30 (actually a GA180 converted to gas.) Those are around 1.1-1.2kg so I shouldn't need tail weight. So that is the ballpark weight I'd shoot for w/ the motor.