General Question Regarding Inputs - RC Groups
Nov 05, 2017, 01:55 PM
Discussion

General Question Regarding Inputs

I am new to CP flying, got a Nano CP S from the wife, she didn't know how difficult it would be. I do have some fixed pitch experience.

I am mind boggled at just how out of control this thing is and thinking I have an issue. As soon as I get it of the ground it takes off like crazy (maybe 2 out of 15 flights it actually levels out and can hover). I have found many threads that seem similar, but no fix or absolute answer.

Question: As a general rule, does swash plate movement follow stick movement? What I mean is this, if I move the stick to +100% forward, then back to +50%, should the plate move with the stick back to +50%? Or do I have to apply negative stick (ie -50%) to get the plate to move in a reverse direction?

Essentially, I am finding that the plate does not want to return to level when the right stick is in it's center position. Is this correct? Could it be a setting on my DX6e? It does appear to find level when I initiate it on a level surface.

Thanks in advance, sorry for the noob question.
to remove ads between posts
Nov 06, 2017, 01:03 AM
Grumpy old git.. Who me?
No, the swash movement on a flybarless heli like the CP S does not directly follow stick movement. How you describe the movement of yours sounds perfectly normal.

When spooling and while the heli is on the ground try to minimise any stick input. Lift off quickly as soon as the rotors are up to speed.
Nov 10, 2017, 04:19 PM
Thanks JPF.

To me it is odd (because it is new) to have to apply a negative input to move a positive input back to center. Just for my understanding, can someone help me understand why they don't return to center with the stick?
Nov 11, 2017, 10:47 AM
Grumpy old git.. Who me?