750cc jet ski drive. - RC Groups
Nov 05, 2017, 10:59 AM
Discussion

750cc jet ski drive.

I recently got offered a jet ski for practically nothing. Ive had an idea in my head for years about building a hull to fit a jet ski power system. I have a few questions about this though, as Im not too experienced in RC boats, or hull design. Im not looking for anything super high performance, or perfect handling, just something I can play around with.

Im thinking of a fairly shallow v hull to start with, somewhere in the 12-18 degree deadrise range. What are some good starting points for length to width ratios? I don't have the drive unit yet, so I don't have and specs as far as dimensions, or weight, but but Im thinking this hull will have to be somewhere in the 8'-10' range in length, and 2'-3' in width. Sound close?

Also if anyone can share some hull design links, or steer me in the right direction to find dimensioned drawings, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
to remove ads between posts
Nov 05, 2017, 11:36 AM
This might be about right.

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...n-%281000mm%29

I'm building one up at present for 700mm length. It was originally designed as 1000mm so about half the size you mention but it would be easy to scale it up and all the cut list is done so you could get it laser cut for ease of your assembly.

Check out the videos on the thread to see if a scaled up version is the kind of thing you want :-)
Nov 05, 2017, 01:54 PM
Just Plane Nutts
Could the hull just be the same length as a ski jet? With no rider on board, it should haul butt.
Nov 05, 2017, 02:31 PM
Dunk, that looks pretty close to what I have in mind. Maybe slightly narrower, and (possibly?) longer hull, to handle some rougher water.
Do you have a thread going on your build?
Nov 05, 2017, 03:17 PM
Just Plane Nutts
A "Cocktail Class" 8-foot racer hull might be just right for that drive: http://www.boatracingfacts.com/forum...l-Class-Racing