When did you teach kids to fly RC, and what with? - RC Groups
Nov 05, 2017, 01:00 AM
Discussion

When did you teach kids to fly RC, and what with?

I have not been active in RC hobby since the birth of my first child. Life was too hectic then. My oldest is now 7 and my middle child is almost 6, and I am thinking about introducing them to RC so in the weekend we get to do something that I am interested in, rather than just going to playground and pushing them on the swings ad nauseum. I myself self-taught on EPP slope gliders with A-E control only. I am thinking about same for the kids, but just wondering if others have similar experience or is it just a waste of time at these ages? I did buy them rubber band free gliders and these do capture their attention but I found myself winding the rubber bands more than actually flying with them and after a while they lost interest with the constant down time winding the rubber bands...
to remove ads between posts
Nov 05, 2017, 02:32 AM
When my son was 6-1/2, I introduced him with a PZ UM T28, Ares Gamma 370, and HobbyZone Super Cub. He liked the T28 the most.

I first put him on a simulator, like a lot of kids that age he was/is very technology oriented and took to it very quickly. So the real flying was easy.

I've found with kids that they either like it or not, if they don't no amount of encouragement works, if they do you can't get them off of it. For example, I tried to get him interested in building, starting with a Fly Boy. He never finished it, I had to finish it, and he was uninterested in flying it.

Regards
Nov 05, 2017, 01:46 PM