Converting my Graphite 2 to electric... - RC Groups
Oct 28, 2017, 12:41 PM
Help!

Converting my Graphite 2 to electric...

Greetings,

I hope I am posting in the right forum... and please forgive my complete lack of knowledge regarding electric gliding. It's my first attempt.

I decided to convert my Graphite 2 to electric. I don't need a rocket that takes off vertically or does extreme aerobatics but would like to have just enough power to get me up to altitude and help me with an aborted landing.

Estimating Graphite to be about 5 -5.5lb flying weight so is 500-600W sufficient for my stated needs ( as per Hacker site recommendation of 100W per pound for sport flying) ?

Below are recommendations for motors from Hyperflight's site:

Kontronik Kira 500-30 with 6.7:1 box, 18x10 prop, 4S 3Ah LiPo (62A, 3300 fpm)
Hacker B50 9S with 6.7:1 box, 17x10 prop, 3S 2.5Ah LiPo (84A, 2900 fpm)
Hacker B50 9S with 6.7:1 box, 16x10 prop, 3S 2.5Ah LiPo (69A, 2400 fpm)
Kontronik Kira 500-36 with 6.7:1 box, 17x11 prop, 3S 2Ah LiPo (63A, 2400 fpm)
Kontronik Kira 500-36 with 6.7:1 box, 16x13 prop, 3S 2Ah LiPo (59A, 2050 fpm)
Kontronik Kira 500-36 with 6.7:1 box, 16x10 prop, 3S 2Ah LiPo (47A, 1900 fpm)

Can you recommend other motor combinations?

Lastly, how do I go about deciding which speed controller I will need?

I'm sorry about these basic questions... but would really appreciate any suggestions and insight !
Tomasz
Last edited by Nagarjuna; Oct 28, 2017 at 05:41 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Oct 28, 2017, 03:20 PM
dare to thermal
Check this:
https://www.hacker-motor-shop.com/Br...catalog&p=7201