Electrifying a Scratch built 79" WS 2-33 - RC Groups
Oct 28, 2017, 11:43 AM
Discussion

Electrifying a Scratch built 79" WS 2-33

I'm building a 2-33 foam and balsa hybrid and looking for suggestions on motor/prop/ ESC size recommendations. I found the great thread and info on the MotorSpatz by Kiwikid and the Parkzone Ka-8 with Folding Prop thread by PJpjpj for inspiration..

This is my first attempt at getting into building a glider. I have been flying gas r/c for many years since I was a younger lad. But completely new to the world of the electric stuff, so still need to do some more learning and reading on everything.

I live in Atlanta so no slope flying here for a glider, my initial idea was to build a semi-scale 2--33 and use a hi-start system for launching. But, i'm building it with a foam wing wing and concerned about the launch. So that is why my interest in making it a electric motor assist and going that route.

I'm making it a 79" inch wingspan. The fuselage is a hybrid of square stock and balsa with foam filled in for stiffening and shaping of the final surface. Then using the newsprint and TiteBond glue method that I found on RCG here as well. Very surprised at the durable hard shell finish that the newsprint creates when fully cured. To my surprise it is actually coming out very sturdy, and pretty light. No idea of all up weight yet.

Kiwikid in his MotorSpatz thread suggested a ..... based on a 79 " wing, ... suggest a 3 cell set up generating around 300W with a 40amp ESC would be ideal for this? What size prop / motor / ESC based on your experience would you suggest...

Just curious if anyone else has done such a conversion with a 2-33 build and how it turned out. I'm concerned that i may not have enough nose room area for a battery location. I will have to doing some more design work.

Thanks to all!!
to remove ads between posts
Oct 28, 2017, 01:23 PM
Sagitta Fanboy
A good starting point is the power system for the E-Flite Radian.