Glow In The Dark Night Flying Plane - RC Groups
Oct 27, 2017, 01:19 PM
Discussion

Glow In The Dark Night Flying Plane

Hey Guys,

I'm new to night flying and I actually haven't ever tried. I imagine that you would really want to worry about keeping orientation of the plane; for example a flying wing may not work very well unless you use two different colors because keeping the orientation of a featureless plane would be near impossible.

One thing I have wanted to try is a 3D printed plane with glow in the dark filament; this would eliminate the need for LEDs and the filament is relatively the same price. I also don't think its ever been done before! One concern I have is keeping orientation of the plane at distance, but I printed one of my planes that I think has really good features to keep orientation . Below you can see a pic I have gotten of my first attempt at a 3D printed night flyer. Maybe I will try using different glow in the dark colors on each wing tip and split boom.

One positive is I have set the plane on the ground after fully charging it up and it seems that I can see it really well at around 40 yards (that's as large as my back yard is but I'm pretty sure I will be able to see it at a farther distance)

I have to reprint the plane, but I think I will try and post some images and maybe videos to share the success/failure story.

Please let me know your thoughts and any tips and tricks!
to remove ads between posts
Oct 31, 2017, 09:21 AM
Ft Lauderdale
Hi,

Sounds like a fun building project.

I have seen people use glow in the dark
plastic string fiber but never bright enough
for good orientation.

Personally, I build and fly a lot of
night flyers and from my own
personal experience, I would have to
say use powered LEDs!

Being too bright at night is underrated, haha!

Here’s a few of my ‘bright’ homebuilt EPP flyers.

CrashTestHobby 36" Roswell Revisited (3 min 16 sec)