770mm Fokker DR1 build - RC Groups
Oct 26, 2017, 02:33 PM
Discussion

770mm Fokker DR1 build

This will be my first "small" build. It's a Fokker DR1 770 mm or 30 inch or so wingspan. It is meant to be electric but I will convert it to glow. Hopefully an Enya 09 will be a good fit. I'm pretty new at this so will have some questions, hopefully you guys will help me out .

The kit arrived from hobbyking in less than a week, everything looked good, well packaged no damage. Parts are all laser cut, balsa is of fine quality. The plywood is a little heavy.

https://hobbyking.com/en_us/balsa-fokker-dr1.html

Paul.
Last edited by pwilk20; Oct 26, 2017 at 02:40 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Oct 26, 2017, 09:14 PM
Started with the landing gear wing, everything went together well, no issues.
Oct 26, 2017, 09:29 PM
Next came the fuselage, there is no paper plan provided so I had to see the 3D drawings on my tablet. Again, all parts fit well, hardest part was to figure out the proper build sequence.
Oct 26, 2017, 09:32 PM
The tail was the easiest so far. Everything just aligned and clicked in position
Oct 26, 2017, 09:48 PM
This thing calls for 5g servos, any recommendations? I will use 9g in the fuselage but the ailerons call for something smaller.

These seem ok
https://hobbyking.com/en_us/hxt500-m...8sec-6-2g.html

I have used their 9g ones with good success so these seem like a good fit.
Oct 26, 2017, 10:03 PM
UAS Pilot - FAA# *******HRK
Really looking good pwilk!

As your going glow I would try to find something sturdy, i.e., metal gears and digital for your servos. I hate to say it but Hobby King maybe your only choice. Like these maybe - https://hobbyking.com/en_us/turnigyt...___store=en_us

Have you planed your glow install yet. Looks like you'll need to make a more solid firewall at least.

Mike
Oct 26, 2017, 10:06 PM
Vintage Aircraft Lover