Gee Bee freaks unite! - RC Groups
Oct 24, 2017, 08:57 AM
Newbee with a Gee Bee
Discussion

Gee Bee freaks unite!

Hi folks,

For me, the Gee Bee has a very important place in aviation history, it has almost cult status and has many fans.
I have loved this plane since I was a kid.
Incidentally I'm also responsible for modeling the Virtavia GeeBee for Flight Simulator FS9 and FSX, in case we have any FS freaks out there.

I just started rc flying a couple of months ago and was fortunate enough to snatch up the last two UMX Gee Bees at the local hobby store (one for learning and crashing, the other one for backup ).
True, the Gee Bee is not an easy plane to learn on but I enjoy the challenge and I couldn't pass the opportunity up because I have always loved the plane so much, and if you start to get it under control it is incredibly rewarding.
(You should have seen the look on the face of the guy in the store where I bought it when I told him I'm totally new to RC flying and this would be my very first rc plane... I've never seen anyone biting his tongue so hard ... HAHAHAHA...!!!)

I know, there is already a huge thread dedicated to the UMX Gee Bee but this one is more about the cult status of the Gee Bee and about those of us who don't take "discontinued" for an answer but keep the delightful "killer Bee" in the air as long as possible.
Even though Horizon Hobby has discontinued this plane, I'm absolutely certain that there are still a number of diehards out there who have one and love flying it.
I also thought it would be nice to share tips and tricks on how we keep our little Gee Bees from dying, how we keep maintaining and especially crash proofing this wonderful little plane to keep it from going the way of other discontinued models. The UMX Gee Bee deserves to live on!

And especially - if anyone is flying a Gee Bee other than the UMX version, PLEASE join in, it can only widen our horizon and that's always a good thing.

Let's hear it for the Gee Bee...!!!