One-stop-shop for Balsa Builders - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Oct 21, 2017, 02:41 AM
Discussion

One-stop-shop for Balsa Builders

Hi guys,

Newbie here for building balsa models.

Is there a 1-stop-shop for ordering quality tools for RC balsa builders?

Thanks for any advise.
to remove ads between posts
Oct 21, 2017, 09:54 AM
I would probably say maybe... haha... but for some builders (like myself)... buying tools, materials and equipment takes patience, just like building. If you're patient and study you might be better off opposed to trying to get everything in a "one-stop-shop".

It might akin to trying to build a plane in one session... can you imagine a "one session plane". Of course there are ARF's and RTF's, but those are not any sort of custom kit-built plane... and trying to build a kit-plane takes hours, days, weeks, and more.

Not knowing where you're located other then Qatar, if there's issues of getting supplies/tools shipped, again do your homework and try to get as much in one shipment as you can... and for that we've got places here in the states like TowerHobbies, Horizon Hobbies, AMain Hobbies, and many really that offer decent tools and they ship anywhere(for a price I'm sure)... but there's many tools that are bought at hardware stores we have here like HarborFreightTools, ACE hardware, and several other outlets.... which offer great tools for the money that work very well for hobby use.

I will even add too that many tools can be found around most anyone's house or hardware store, as building balsa models really doesn't take much out of the ordinary. A good set of X-Acto type knives, a good set of steel rulers, a good flat table, some pins, tape, wax-paper, sand-paper, maybe a small saw, tools and material stuff like that can go a long way to getting started on a very nice model. I still think the key is patience to any of it.