Nov 11, 2004, 12:07 PM
Thread OP

One more foam cutter question for the experts!

I have assembled an electric foam cutter.
This is the hardware list:

- Transformer
220 Volts AC current INPUT (Italy)
5 to 12 Volts DC OUTPUT
Rated 1 Amp (1000 mmA)

- Steel wire 10,5" long, about 0,018" gauge.

This setup works fine with a smooth cut trought the foam, but after using it for 3-5 minutes the transformer gets really hot, and beeing scared to burn it, I switch it off.
NB : this happens at 12 DC volts output setting.

Were is the bug?
1) Is the transformer going to burn?
2) Too much volts or too much draining amps?
3) What is going to happen reducing the voltage output (5-7), is this going to reduce the burning hazard of the transformer?
4) Things will work better using a light dimmer connected to the transformer?

I know too much questions but I am not an electrician expert.
Thank you for the incoming help reply.
to remove ads between posts
Nov 11, 2004, 05:18 PM
Crash Master
I'm using small steel wire from the craft department. Might be 28-30 gauge. I use about 2-2.5 amps for the heat setting I like to cut at, so that may well be the problem. Some other wires (and smaller gauges), like Niachrome get hotter with lower currents. The voltage is dependant on the length of wire and the current required for the heat you need.

I would suggest getting a larger transformer, perhaps 20-24 volts at 3 amp secondary, and use a dimmer on the primary to adjust the heat for your preference. You WILL burn up the one you are using if it gets too hot. You can use AC right off the transformer secondary, the wire really doesn't care if it's AC or DC...
Nov 12, 2004, 11:12 AM
Thread OP
Thank you Gene.
But if [amps (I) = Volts/Resistance (ohms)], then keeping the resistance constant (steel wire length and gauge), reducing the voltage we should get a decrease in amps.
Is it correct isn't it ?
Nov 12, 2004, 04:37 PM