An RMRC Team Pilot Perspective - Getting into Fixed Wing - RC Groups

An RMRC Team Pilot Perspective - Getting into Fixed Wing

I started out as a fixed wing pilot. I only got into quads a few years ago. Then I realized the FPV and wing craft are a ton of fun! Here an interesting article from ReadyMadeRC about the shift from quads to winged craft from RMRC team pilots.

Splash

Fixed Wing Pilots and FPV

I have been preaching the joy of fixed wing FPV for more than a few years now. While I do fly line of sight, the most fun for me in RC is fixed wing FPV flight. I love it! Here is an article created by RMRC on that very topic...

From ReadyMadeRC:

I asked our team pilots to fill out a questionnaire about their fixed wing experiences & received some very interesting responses to say the least. Let’s dive right in.

Kevin Garland is primarily a fixed wing pilot, but he has some interesting insights for modelers getting into fixed wing flight.

• Q: What fixed wing aircraft would you recommend to a first timer and why?
  • A: Turbine Jet..... In all seriousness a Fly Zone Sensei
  • Q: What is the best tip you can think of to help a new fixed wing pilot?
  • A: Learn to fly LOS before ever attempting goggles. Learn to fly without Gyros. Learn what a rudder does.....
  • Q: What was the first thing you tried to do with a wing that you normally do with a multirotor? Did it work as expected?
  • A: Crash into brick wall going 75 mph.... No the wing broke where my quad only broke one prop. Was piss as hell.... :- )

Team pilots G_Yune & Mr. NoizeFPV are primarily quad pilots & both just got into fixed wings on a whim at an event. They both struggled a bit with a 3D aerobat, but found their groove with the RMRC Recruit.

• Q: What do you like about fixed wing that you do not get out of multirotors?
  • A: G_Yune & Mr. NoizeFPV - Longer flight times
  • A: Mr. Noize FPV - RMRC Recruit super easy to launch and fly
  • G_Yune - Nano Sky hunter or Recruit