Bit off more than I could chew - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Oct 12, 2017, 01:18 AM
Discussion

Bit off more than I could chew

I have been flying blade helicopters for about 2 years on and off had the small ones nano and such went to 230 great flying now keep in mind no 3D just pleasure flying so I decided to get the 270 well just to say I practiced for a week just on the ground didn't want to wreck it so I went out to the farm with a friend and started it up gave some throttle and in a blink of an eye it was about 15ft I probably panicked and tried to bring her down and she went down as fast as up got about $90 in repairs coming. So with that being said and please be gentlemen I know I messed up but what exactly did I do wrong and how can I avoid this in the future I am a ex Army vet who really finds great therapy in these little contraptions
to remove ads between posts
Oct 12, 2017, 03:15 AM
Heligamist
I would suggest you set your pitch curve to include only a small bit of negative pitch while learning. This will keep you from dropping the throttle suddenly (and also the pitch) in a panic which slams the heli into the ground. Something like 40-50-60-70-80 if you want some off the top end as well. If not then something like 40-50-60-80-100.
Oct 12, 2017, 06:11 AM
Grumpy old git.. Who me?
yep, a pitch curve with a shallower slope will help soften collective response. Running slightly lower headspeed has a similar effect.

You might also try a simulator I find them boring to use but they are helpful.
Oct 12, 2017, 11:24 AM
Thanks for the information taking to the shop now hope to be flying soon
Oct 12, 2017, 12:24 PM
+1 for the simulator (along with the other suggestions)
Oct 13, 2017, 09:39 AM
You can find free sime online and cheap cables to mate your tx to your pc.