completely lost in choosing a new radio - RC Groups
Oct 10, 2017, 10:55 AM
IFLYGLIDERS
Help!

completely lost in choosing a new radio

Hi !
I have been flying for 6 years a spektrum DX6i (DSM2) with no issues, suited my first simple airplaines and my learning skills...
but last year I bought a multiplex heron wich is a 4 servo wing type and I began to see the limits of my radio.
It's a 6 channels with only 2 mixing menu, and all 2 positions switches...of course no warnings, voice, shaking, or any programming enhancement.
For my heron I had a nightmare settings things to work properly but I got the essential : it flyes, better it glides !

I'm ready to step up in the size of my airplane, and even If I dont have a lot of time to spend on this hobby I think I'll move forward anyway.

Now for weeks I've been reading thousands posts, watching undreeds reviews videos or explainations about Radios from all main Brand (Futaba, Spektrum, frSky, Graupner, mutliplex and others), looking for something with at least 8 channels and able to fly almost every plane, glider or quad on a common size (from 1 to 3 meters) that I could buy in the next years...
Honnestly I'm lost...
I'm in europe, France to be exact, so I will talk in euros (witch translate almost equal to $)

Futaba is well reputed but too pricy for my budget witch is between a 100€ and 400€) the 14sg is 500€...
Spektrum, hum... I own one, so the interface could be easy for me, but let me tell that it's not well reputed here in europe because of lost of signals problems.
Multiplex...hum never saw the mid range models to any club I've flown, so really enable to have an idea of what it could be, plus almost no videos about them...
Graupner, since they bankrupted, don't know what to think about they're Graupner/SJ, like the MZ18...witch is a good looking Tx