Fighter Face Off: Infield Engineering P-36 Hawk vs. Fun Scale I-16 Rata! - RC Groups
Oct 08, 2017, 01:30 AM
Res Ipsa Aviatur
Build Log

Fighter Face Off: Infield Engineering P-36 Hawk vs. Fun Scale I-16 Rata!

The Project

Name: Untitled.png
Views: 21
Size: 1.03 MB
Description:

After a bit of a hiatus from RC, it’s time to jump back in with a new project. This one has actually been brewing for a couple of years. Derek Micko (D-Rock) and I have been talking about collaborating for a long time now.

I’ve been a fan of D-Rock’s work since he did his 30” I-16 Rata several years back. In fact, I studied that build quite a bit when I was doing my first design which was a 30” Wildcat in a similar style.

I had the good fortune to meet Derek when he was competing in the Scale Masters just down the road in Woodland Davis in 2014 and again in 2016. After realizing that we both specialize in stick-and-tissue type builds and we both love Warbirds, it occurred to us that it would be fun to collaborate in some way.

In order to make it work, we’d need to align in certain respects. We already design in a similar fashion. We’d also need to agree to a certain size. Since our respective projects have been growing larger over time, we decided to go with 60” for the wingspan. Both projects would use similar electric power systems. And both would be aircraft that had faced one another in combat. Thus the Fighter Face Off was born.

Nailing down the right two airplanes was tough. There are so many great combinations that we must have changed our minds a half dozen times. Finally, we settled on the I-16 Rata to quiet some of D-Rocks fans On my side, I am going with the Curtiss Hawk 75—aka the P36.

The Curtiss may seem like an odd choice, but it’s surprising how widespread this little airplane was. We’ll go into more detail on that later, but in regard to tangling with the Rata a number of Hawks found themselves in the service of the Finnish Air Force during hostilities with the Soviets.