Wood bending techniques - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Oct 07, 2017, 11:09 AM
Data

Wood bending techniques

Finally found this old Model Builder article about bending wood. Use it wisely, children. Share where ever you like.
to remove ads between posts
Oct 08, 2017, 09:03 PM
Very interesting article although he kind of downplays the handling hazard of aqua-ammonia. Household ammonia is a 5-10% solution of ammonia and aqua-ammonia is almost a 30% solution. It is very caustic and to use it without a face shield and rubber gloves is foolish. It's use is possible but you must be careful and handle it like the lab chemical it is.
Oct 08, 2017, 09:38 PM
I would concur. Safety issues are more prominent these days, and rightly so. However, I used to work in the "custodial trade" and remember buying ammonia this strong as a matter of no great concern. What I take from this article is that household strength ammonia is pretty much useless as a wood bending agent, aside from the fact that it may wet better than plain water or perhaps being available in a convenient spray bottle.

I see possibility of one piece wing tips and fairly complex fuselage shells, molded in balsa, using these methods. Probably at extreme limit of home fabrication methods, but still possible, with forethought and reasonable care taken during all processes.
Oct 08, 2017, 09:45 PM
Dunno..... Household Ammonia has been Pretty effective in My wood bending adventures.
Albeit on Balsa only, Sheets and sticks though.
A Blu foam plug, a sheet of Well cured in Ammonia Balsa ,a Tensor bandage and next day a Half shell results
Suspect the % strength of buy at the store Ammonia is likely .... Variable.
Some generics are seriously odourus, some name brands barely so. Simple whiff test before buying.
There was some talk about ammonia bent/shaped wood being of reduced strength as result.
No Idea.. merely heard it said.
Last edited by Bare; Oct 08, 2017 at 09:51 PM.
Oct 10, 2017, 01:29 PM