This thread is privately moderated by Xpress.., who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Oct 03, 2017, 03:46 PM
Fully Sending It
Thread OP
Data

Multiplex FunCub XL!

If you don't have a Multiplex FunCub XL then you really are missing out on an airframe that is just silly fun to fly- big emphasis on the word FUN! I have been having an absolute BLAST with mine and it's just about al all stock, out of the box, RR. Normally I'm a giant scale pilot but this Cub has really changed my pace up lately and brought my interest right to it. There are a few things that I have done to get better performance out of it that I'd like to discuss, it has really changed how the thing flies and feels in the air.

1. I added a Castle Creations 10 amp BEC set to 6.5 volts. This voltage will not hurt the HS-225BB servos the aircraft comes with, but it will give the airplane a more responsive and crisp feeling in the air since the servos now have additional speed and torque.

This was soldered in line on the battery leads on the ESC- I simply soldered the positive and negative leads onto the battery connector. With the BEC installed like this, power will be applied to the receiver and servos at the same time the battery is plugged into the airplane. I chose the CC 10 amp BEC because it's small and lightweight, yet provides ample power and voltage to all of the servos- I can run 8+ servos on this airplane under full load and not tax the BEC.

The stock ESC's BEC provides roughly 5.5 volts to the servos with 5 amps of power available. This is ample power for all 8 HS-225BB servos the airplane needs to have all functions and controls (at roughly 600mah running current under load), but again my reasoning for using the Castle BEC is to get more voltage to the servos- this is in no way mandatory.