Newbie Needs Help - Shopping List for SIG Kadet Senior - RC Groups
Sep 23, 2017, 04:36 PM
Discussion

Newbie Needs Help - Shopping List for SIG Kadet Senior

I have wanted to get into RC flight for years. I lived near a field but moved before I got involved. I have a simulators software from Phoenix and after a few visits to a local field I am getting the bug again. My pocket book is better this time around too. LOL.

I plan to put in lots of time on the simulator over the winter and buy a plane next spring. I have a lot to learn.

I like the SIG Kadet Senior Sport. The Senorita may be a better choice but I am drawn to the the Senior for some reason. I'm not really interested in electric.

The local club has a trainer who will help with flying, but I am on my own to select a plane, controller, etc.

Where can I learn how to properly set up a SIG Kadet Senior Sport for fuel? Suggestions?

I don't want to buy twice because I am a newbie. I prefer to learn not to make those mistakes if I can.
Last edited by thebbqguy; Sep 23, 2017 at 06:19 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Sep 24, 2017, 08:51 AM
ARFs Are Me
The Kadet Sport should come with all the required hardware, so you're good there.

I had a .91 4 stroke in mine, but it was more power than necessary. Something in the .55, 4 stroke, category would be perfect.

Standard, 40 ounce servos should be fine, but I used Hitec 645s in mine. My current Kadet Sport is electric, using the same servos. You'll need some servo extensions for the ailerons, etc.

The kit's instructions should tell you what is required. They also provide you with step by step instructions for setting up your model for fuel

The instructions do not mention the need for adding down thrust. I suggest that you add two washers, per side, on the top holes for the motor mount. This will make your engine point downward. Failing to do so will result in a model that gains significant altitude under power..