GT 5889 : My path to glory. - RC Groups
Sep 21, 2017, 09:16 PM
Yippee!

GT 5889 : My path to glory.

Hello!

I am new.
Well I am new to RC stuff.
I'm almost 50, so I am late. old ish and new.
Confused?
Me too. : - )

Pull up a deck chair! and beer,/coco/tea/coffee/toasted cheese and onion sandwich etc

Bought a GT 5889 off the local NZ web auction thing www.trademe.co.nz

Cost me $5 and then $25 for postage. Heck...

Tore the little guy down and cleaned up the swash bearing. ( Rinsed in degreaser and then soak in oil)
Reseated the top part of swash into the bearing. I made sure it was not going to "fall out".

Glued a few lose screws back in.

Made up a 2S pack out of a 1/3 dead 3s pack. ( Do NOT do this if you are an idiot... BOOM is not funny.)

Made up a lead to attach 3s pack to TX. ( again, idiots beware: get this wrong and bye bye TX/Battery/eyes/house etc)

I did have a close call:

With the blades off I slapped the new 15% charged 2s battery onto the copter and hit the on switch with the TX off.

AND...

It went BERSERK. Trying to smash everything to bits with it's fly bar.

after a short pause for the old brain to catch up I hit off. wow. That was close!

Hey it GOES! gulp.

Put everything back together, did a text with TX and it all worked fine. Decided to call it and went to bed.

Next day slapped blades in and battery on, kept battery charge low. ( just in case!)

Sat outside with a hot cup of coco and let her rip.

Wow, getting the tail rotor set up is going to be a thing.... and the stupid digital trims on the TX suck! Darn.

BUT nothing came off, the thing does do what it's suppose to and heck it's twitchy. : - )

Bottom line:

Got it, prepped it, flew it.
Still have all my fingers and two good blades.

Future?

More lounge flying and then some creative mods. Maybe try to make up some kind OH-6 looking monster. he he he.

For $5 ???
Really really good. simple, works.
Easy to work on.
Oh yeah, TX runs on 3S pack. yey!

Worst thing?