Sep 11, 2017, 12:01 AM
Thread OP
Question

Flying without a Gyro.... anyone have experience with this?

Hello.

I'm new! Yep, with silly a question and all. : - )

So I have a Big Lama that I am studying, and I am learning a whole bunch of stuff fast.
( this is good.)

But I am still bemused by the Gyro.

Can someone explain why I would really want one?

The reason I ask is I have spent ages in a sim using my rudder in fixed wing and helis ...
and the gryo just sucks the "life" out of the rudder... ( IMHO)

Example:

Slipping sideways but there is no "weather vane" or nosing into the air flow.
( the gyro is actively stopping this by applying counter torque)

and also the motors must get punished by this! Constantly trying to keep a heading.

I would LOVE to do an A B test to see how much the Gyro effects the flight character.

Um, can I turn it off??? can I put a dip switch on the gyro board.....

so yes. um. Thanks!

Warm regards from New Zealand!

Robert.
to remove ads between posts
Sep 11, 2017, 06:39 PM
Flying helis since 1978
Back in the dark ages of r/c helis the tail gyro was invented to allow better control of the tail. Without one the tail naturally wants to spin against the rotation of the main rotor.
There was a lot of correction needed to keep the tail in check without one.
With the early gyros, they were mechanical, using flywheels spinning, to hold the tail from whipping around due to the counter torque of the main rotor.

These were rate style gyros.

Enter the chip style gyros, they provided the ability of the gyro to have heading hold capability. This keeps the heli from weathervaning in a turn.
If your sim allows it, try turning off the heading hold, and put it in rate mode.

I do not know if your heli has the ability to change the gyros.

rotorist.
Last edited by rotorist; Sep 11, 2017 at 06:43 PM. Reason: addedstuffstocontentofpost
Sep 11, 2017, 09:42 PM
Cranky old fart