New to RC....HELP PLEASE - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Sep 10, 2017, 03:10 PM
Help!

New to RC....HELP PLEASE

I'm new to RC and want to build a 36"-40" offshore fast supply/crew boat like the ones used in the Gulf of Mexico. Most of the newer boats have jet drives and bow thrusters but I want to make mine a twin screw. I saw a video of a guys twin setup. He had a Hobby King HK6S FHSS radio that had dual throttle control on the left stick. I looked at Hobby King online but can't seem to find it there or anywhere else! Can anyone help please?!
to remove ads between posts
Sep 10, 2017, 03:41 PM
I am not familiar with the radio of which you speak,, but Harbor Models does offer a twin throttle radio specifically for boats. It this the one you refer to?
http://www.harbormodels.com/radios.html
Jonathan
Sep 10, 2017, 05:27 PM
The REASON you cannot find it, is because it IS the "modified" HK6S, that is sold by Harbor Models.
They start life as a standard HK6S radio, and they do not re-logo the radio.

Also, don't start a "NEW" post, every time you post something.
Sep 10, 2017, 06:59 PM
boat butcher
welcome to the forum .

Mark
Sep 12, 2017, 12:01 AM
Jeno,Capt CB,yes that's the radio I was referring to. Thanks for the advice. This is the first time I've ever posted on a forum of any kind so please bare with me. I didn't realise the radio would be that expensive! Especially since the original is less than $50. I think for now I'll just use one ESC. Any suggestions on which one to use. I need one for forward and reverse. Also what size motors to use. I think 15-20 knots will be fast enough for scale speed. I want to find a small geared motor to use for the radar. If possible,I want to use a 7.2 V battery unless there is a better choice. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.
Sep 12, 2017, 05:38 AM
Troy,