F-35 wheelchair costume build - RC Groups
Sep 08, 2017, 09:28 AM
Discussion

F-35 wheelchair costume build

I found your forums while researching my current project. I'm a volunteer builder for Magic Wheelchair. We make epic costumes for children in wheelchairs.

The child I'm building for would like an F-35. My plan is to build it out of pink foam using cross sections as forms. I've managed to get a 3d cad model sliced into 2" sections, but I need to convert them to eps files so I "print" the patterns on my vinyl cutter.

Do you guys have any advice or plans you could share with me to help this build go more smoothly?

Thanks
to remove ads between posts
Sep 08, 2017, 10:48 AM
Gravity is my enemy
Cool idea, my only thought would be searching out a "cartoon F35" as it would be much shorter and maneuverable on a chair. yet still get the airplane vibe.
Sep 08, 2017, 11:52 AM
I may have to go that route. I was hoping to keep it as realistic as possible, but the wingspan is 7.5 feet in the cad model right now.
Sep 08, 2017, 04:09 PM
Mike's Ma Maaaaaaaaan
Hi, humbled, anyone spending their time helping others gets my vote.
Just found the web site and think that it's a great idea so you guys have my respect.

I would like to help but I am in Europe. What do you think about a sound module???? I know that they exist and I THINK that you can get them with Jet noise....... Don't want to take anything away from your project but it could be sooooooooooooooo cool to have jet noises as the little guy flies down the corridor!!!

What do you think?? If you are interested PM me, I will investigate, purchase a module and send it to you. Unfortunately you will have to fit it as from here to there is a bit far. Is there a power source on the wheelchair or do we need batteries/ charger???

Just click my name and PM me or reply here.

PaulB
Sep 08, 2017, 05:16 PM
I'm meeting with another team member tomorrow to go over electronics. I would love to have sounds on it.