Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
This thread is privately moderated by Plasmatree, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Sep 07, 2017, 03:15 PM
Thread OP
Data

Betaflight PID-Analyzer

Hello,

I'm quite new to drones and was looking for a more data based approach to PID tuning.
I came up with a small program that calculates the actual system step response from recorded blackbox data.

The step response is a characteristic measure for PID performance and often referred to in tuning techniques. For more detail read: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PID_co...#Manual_tuning
The program is Python based but utilizes Blackbox_decode.exe from blackbox_tools (https://github.com/cleanflight/blackbox-tools) to read logfiles.

This for example was the BF stock tune on my 2.5" CS110:
Name: BLACKBOX_LOG_20170714_135930__0.png
Views: 410
Size: 789.4 KB
Description:

I recorded logs by hovering and doing small moves in the livingroom. The smooth tune I came up with looks like this:
Name: BTFL_BLACKBOX_LOG_CS110_20170831_211916_0.png
Views: 392
Size: 486.6 KB
Description:

The program calculates the system response from input (PID loop input = What the quad should do) and output (Gyro = The quad does). Mathematically this is called deconvolution, which is the invers to convolution: Input * Response = Output. A 0.5s long response is calculated from a 1.5s long windowed region of interest. The window is shifted roughly 0.2s to calculate each next response. From a mathematical point of view this is necessary, but makes each momentary response correspond to an interval of roughly +-0.75s.

Any external input (by forced movement like wind) will result in an incomplete system and thus in a corrupted response. Based on RC-input and quality the momentary response functions are weighted to reduces the impact of corruptions. Due to statistics, more data (longer logs) will further improve reliability of the result.