This thread is privately moderated by gryhrdoldfool, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Sep 07, 2017, 05:57 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Theory Ducted Fans

After reading the following a number of times I realised I might appear arrogant and a 'know it all' this is not the case I am very careful. For any theory to be used for a particular application it must be balanced I.E. in this case it must precisely follow Newtons Laws, Impulse and Thermodynamics. If there is any imbalance then either the theory is incomplete, plain wrong or not applicable to this situation. ALL of the theories that I have read, when examined by this criteria, fail - so does that make me arrogant?
This is basically a cry for help. I am an aerospace engineer with over forty years of experience including about twenty five years in gas turbines, I retired and looked around for something as an interest, I was an aeromodeller in my youth. So I looked at electric flight and in particular electric ducted fans. I want to design and build units from scratch, so I looked around the web for details about design, performance, efficiency etc. I thought this was well done and dusted, digging out my texts on thermodynamics I discovered this particular topic was skirted around, yes compressor blades, propellors and open fans but nothing on ducted fans that didn't reference ducted propellors*. Everything I looked at rang alarm bells in my head, there is nothing available from googling that made any sense, maybe there are books available with adequate explanations but so far all I have seen are scaled down explanations of fans that are based on high velocity units (as used in turbofans), clearly sub 100m/s ** units will not operate in the same way. Secondly there are the 'duct'*** only explanations that are based on work much more applicable to ram jets/pulse jets and not EDF's. I find the way so called experts 'talk down' to people not trained in the relavent disciples abhorant. People who are not trained i