Sep 05, 2017, 03:29 AM
Thread OP
Help!

ProBoat Recoil 17" Reception Issue

Hiya, its Newbie here!!!!

I thought I'd give a big 'HI 5' and what a great forum I've found here. Plenty of helpful tips, great videos and lots more.

So, I'm hoping someone out there can help me. I bought the ProBoat Recoil 17" from Horizon Hobby due to great reviews and took it to our summer house in Finland. Following the simple instructions:

Battery fully charged and installed
New batteries in the transmitter
All knobs and dials set to default as per pics on the transmitter
Switched on transmitter, then the boat

Day 1: At this point, all I get is 3 bleeps, then a single bleep every sec continuously. After several attempts checking and rechecking, I gave Horizon Hobby a call. It was found that I had to sync the transmitter to the boat using the dial (now set to West or 9 on a clock face).

Now at this point, my 3-year-old was going mental with excitement, so we rushed down to the lake, did a quick check and put the boat into the water. Off she went, whizzing around here and there, then to my surprise.... I lost reception and the boat just kept going and going. I could hear the motor and see no boat, then silence.

I decided to head out on the rowing boat, boy included with his life jacket on. Luckily for me, the boat is coloured bright RED and we managed to retrieve it without any damage occurring.

Day 2: Batteries fully charged, instructions re-read and did the Range Check test (approx. 80mtrs). All set again with the throttle toned down. Once again, off she went whizzing around here and there and then.... yep you guessed it…the same again, lost reception and there she goes, out my sight. I managed to find the boat again and called it a day until the root cause is found.

So, my question to you all is.... Have you had a similar reception problem? as on both days, sun was shining, no interference from anywhere, loss of reception was probably at max 35mtrs.