Calidus - RC Groups
Sep 04, 2017, 06:08 AM
Build Log

Calidus

I have been hoping to post a video of my latest project for a couple of months but for various reasons have not been able to do so.
So here it is in all its crowning glory.
You will see from some of the following pics that it has changed shape a little due to the fact that it is VERY hard to predict the balance point of a scale scratch built model.
I have successfully flown the basic frame that you will see ...and then that frame with the glass fuz fitted flew OK but it's appearance just was not OK by me.
I sort help from above...and Rich came up with some help full advise that I tried to put int play.....but unfortunately, left me a little uncomfortable flying in that condition. But I tried...Thanks Rich.
I then found it necessary to make a major change to the pylon,just to get every thing sitting a little better.
to remove ads between posts
Sep 04, 2017, 06:17 AM
And this is how it started out.
I asked Joe Anderson if he could help me with a three view and as always he found one for me just as he was leaving the RC hotel.
I enlarged the three views and came up with a model that was very similar in size the my Arrow
(Joe found those plans for me also)
Sep 04, 2017, 06:28 AM
The basic crutch is made from 2 x 3mm and 1 x 10 mm balsa with two layers of .4mm ply.
This is both light and pretty rigid. The tail boom is made from an ally arrow shaft that was heat treated to allow it to bend.
Sep 04, 2017, 06:35 AM
Next comes the UC in position followed by the engine and servo mount.
Sep 04, 2017, 07:12 AM
Wow Chris that finished model looks a stunner........waching with great interest to see how you did it!,
Sep 04, 2017, 07:35 AM
Wow... beautiful!!!! also looking forward to see more.
theese are the times when I am feeling sorry for beeing myself one for building quick and dirty
Sep 04, 2017, 01:47 PM