RCGUYS PITTS S-1 Build Thread - RC Groups
Aug 31, 2017, 08:54 AM
Denny the "Finger"
Build Log

RCGUYS PITTS S-1 Build Thread

I received my ARF last week. It arrived in good order with no broken or missing parts. I ordered mine from Chief Aircraft in Grant's Pass Oregon.

I'm installing the 40cc twin from Valley View RC in Puyallop Washington. I'm using a two into one exhaust collector with a short silicone down tube. All the servos are Savox. All the hardware is Du-bro. Receiver is Spektrum 2.4 with 8 channels.

I'm just getting started and don't work on it every day so I don't have a completion ETA.

Regarding noise about the covering, it appears to be well adhered. Everything is very tight. I do see that in a few places/seams you can notice the backing is white. HARDLY noticeable and easy to fix/hide.

The firewall is adequate but I will add some ply backing to be safe. Lots of room for hardware, smoke pump, dual tanks, etc.

I have another old 25% Pitts of unknown origin and I love the way it flies. It needs restoration though and building another gives me the opportunity to go gas with smoke option. Old Pitts vid
Pitts S2 (5 min 43 sec)
to remove ads between posts
Sep 01, 2017, 11:01 AM
I have one of these!

Mine has a DLE-55RA....flies like a raped ape! I built it to replicate my old 1978 Pitts S-1S. The kit is an older ARF and not easy built like say an H9 ARF etc...but well worth the effort as I can leave it assembled...I have flown the crap out of it in the last 6 months, it does hold up very well. Its not a 3D monster or monoplane its a fairy unstable aerobatic biplane but LOADS of fun!

RC GUYS were helpful in getting me spare parts and covering to fix some minor issues.
Sep 02, 2017, 12:21 PM
Denny the "Finger"
Things done this post: added ply to firewall, cut relief for exhaust tube, mounted smoke pump, test fit pilot, test fit fuel and smoke tanks, change to pneumatic tires, examining tilt canopy.