Hafner AR III 1:5 (6) - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Aug 26, 2017, 08:54 AM
Build Log

Hafner AR III 1:5 (6)

I am planning to build a Hafner AR III Gyroplane in scale 1:5 (maybe 1:6).
Size would be 108cm fuselage length and 200cm rotor diameter.
Aiming at a weight of around 2.5kg even a 160cm rotor should be enough.

Having taken my last project to a success I now wanted to try something bigger.
Problem: I have no experience with big planes, let alone autogyros
There has been already discussion about hte Hafner
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...Gyroplane-info

So far I modeled the fuselage in PowerPoint and Devfus.
For the rotorblades balsa profiles are ordered.
https://www.lindinger.at/de/?sViewpo...rofilbrettchen
I plan to give those a 2.5mm steal nose.

Has anybody experience regarding dimensions of a deltaplate for rotors this size??
I am thankfull for any help/suggestions I can get?
to remove ads between posts
Aug 28, 2017, 07:35 AM
Fotos of the powerpoint sketch and the planned profil of the rotor blades
Aug 28, 2017, 06:57 PM
It's all in the Blades!
I like this auto and drew my own version up, what concerned me was the lack of vertical area and that short nose. I designed a model I called Burky to test out how a fuselage like this would react in the air and it worked fine.

I have attached my version and some photos I worked off, if its any help then please use it, one day I will get round to building it I hope.

Rich
Aug 29, 2017, 05:42 AM
Rich, thank you for your drawings!!
The nose seems not so short to me, as the motor is placed in front of the fuselage. To my measurement distance from prop to mast (vertical) equals roughly the mast hight. This is a relation that seems to work OK. Isnīt it?
My plan is, to build the rotor and hub first and test it on a robust prototype fuselage (styro or EPP). Once I am more familiar with the behavior of a rotor this size and the model flyes OK, I might build a nicer scale fuselage.