Sudden Aileron Deflection - uncommanded - RC Groups
Aug 13, 2017, 03:34 PM
Discussion

Sudden Aileron Deflection - uncommanded

Would welcome some thoughts. I am an experienced RC pilot but had something happen today that put one of my favorite e-sailplanes in the dirt.

Some background: I am a stickler for proper pre-flights including range checks. My equipment is all quality stuff. My last incident was a carthweel when a sudden crosswind lifted one of my tips on a sailplane last year. I fly three to five days a week (Don't ask how many hours I put in :-))

Ok, the story -- Did my pre-flights on my sailplane today along with a range check. All linkages solid and moving freely. (Note: I am an obsessive "wiggler" and go through that ritual several times as I prepare for launch.) All was normal until my plane left my hand and was only about 30-40 feet away and under full power when the right wing suddenly lifted. It was so sudden, I barely had time to pull back on the throttle and attempt to right the plane. Went in hard snapping my CF boom and ripping off the tail. Some cosmetic damage to the wings but saved my glass pod.

You all know that queasy feeling as you approach your downed plane. Well, wasn't as bad as I thought but I immediately noticed the right aileron fully deflected in the down position while the left aileron was in "neutral". (Note: The plane took the most force on the tail and left wing. The right wing did not come in contact with anything that I could see.) Once I powered down then powered back up, the right aileron returned to its normal position. I then recalled an incident a few weeks ago with the same plane at about 300 feet or so and I experienced a sudden left roll but recovered after some stick movements. I wrote that off to turbulence but now it looks like I may have already experienced this malfunction but didn't realize it as a problem. I tried over and over to recreate that aileron movement but no luck.