Futaba 2.4 Ghz SAILBOAT winch problems? Solutions? - RC Groups
Aug 08, 2017, 11:01 PM
Discussion

Futaba 2.4 Ghz SAILBOAT winch problems? Solutions?

Guys,

I am new to the 2.4 Ghz radios, but I just installed a new Futaba T6K system in my old Nimbus IOM. Prior to that it was a JR 622 FM system.

The FCC changed the rules a while back on the use of the 72Mhz frequency, and I decided to switch the boat to a legal freq being the good citizen that I am. I do live in a fairly remote area, but rules are rules. Anyway, The T6K radio has been a problem since day one. I am not sure if the problem is the 2.4 new receiver or the winch servo. The winch servo will all of a sudden take off on it's own and run the winch line in or out. Sometime this is with the transmitter sitting 10 feet away from me on the ground! Usually this is not all the way to the trim limit, but sometimes this too is exceeded.

The first time this happened was before I ever launched the boat, so it was no big deal. but with the winch servo running a spool of string, it did eventually hit the string dead end and tried to keep going. On this boat there is always the tape over all the hatches that has to be carefully removed and replaced whenever you have to access the winch servo. This is now about the 20th time I have had to remove the cover, and the whole process is getting pretty old.

At first, I associated this problem with low receiver voltage and have been troubleshooting with a freshly charged 4.8 Volt Nicd battery, but the problem re-occured today when the receiver battery was still up to 4.6 volts. I don't know if the receiver battery is getting "noisy" but it is several years old, and that is where I am going to try replacing it first.