Thread Tools
Aug 05, 2017, 07:09 AM
Registered User
dIggO's Avatar
Question

FrSky S6R will not go in bind mode


Hello all!

My S6R gives me a solid green light when powered on with the failsafe button pressed. When just powered a blinking red light.

I'm not able to bind this thing...

I have a Taranis with international firmware, although I live in Europe. I flashed the receiver several times (international version), but I don't know if that was what it needed. Also I don't get the simultanious red and green as in wrong match. I don't come that far because i don't get in bind mode with it...

Anybody who can help please?

Thanks in advance!!

Richard
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Aug 05, 2017, 08:00 AM
Sagitta Fanboy
Make sure you're using a fully charged pack when binding. I've had issues binding with low pack voltages
Aug 06, 2017, 06:41 AM
Registered User
dIggO's Avatar
I did to no avail...

Thanks for the suggestion though!

Richard
Aug 24, 2017, 12:51 PM
Registered User
I bought a S6R with international firmware but I have an early Taranis X9D with the DH16V2 RF board and LBT firmware loaded. I tried flashing all the available EU-LBT firmwares but I was unable to bind with any off them.

I tried binding the S6R to a friend's LBT X9D-Plus and it bound instantly. So the S6R was OK.
I had S6R FW170217 (S6R_LBT_20170217.frk) loaded but it would not bind to the X9D.

The I remembered that I read somewhere that there is a bug and it will only bind to even numbered receivers. I changed the receiver number from 3 to 8 and to my surprise it bound instantly.

I hope this helps.
Last edited by Crash_Harry; Aug 24, 2017 at 12:58 PM. Reason: incomplete
Aug 29, 2017, 04:37 AM
Registered User
dIggO's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crash_Harry
I bought a S6R with international firmware but I have an early Taranis X9D with the DH16V2 RF board and LBT firmware loaded. I tried flashing all the available EU-LBT firmwares but I was unable to bind with any off them.

I tried binding the S6R to a friend's LBT X9D-Plus and it bound instantly. So the S6R was OK.
I had S6R FW170217 (S6R_LBT_20170217.frk) loaded but it would not bind to the X9D.

The I remembered that I read somewhere that there is a bug and it will only bind to even numbered receivers. I changed the receiver number from 3 to 8 and to my surprise it bound instantly.

I hope this helps.
Hey Crash_Harry,

Thanks for your answer! I have a question for you: When you bring the S6R in binding mode, does the led flash red(and a constant green led)?
Because I have only the constant green LED...
This is the procedure I follow: Keep the faisafe button pressed while power on the receiver. Then the LED is just constant green... When I just power it on I get a red flashing LED...
How do you change the receiver number?

Thanks in advance!

Richard
Nov 03, 2017, 11:01 AM
Registered User
Hi. I'm experiencing the same behavior (solid green led) when trying to bind. Were you able to fix it?
Dec 03, 2017, 04:05 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by joaocoutinho
Hi. I'm experiencing the same behavior (solid green led) when trying to bind. Were you able to fix it?
This thread is a bit old, but still seems valid.

Like so many things Frsky, binding seems to work properly, but somehow is totally confusing. If you put the transmitter in bind mode, THEN put the receiver in bind mode, then unplug the power from the reciver, turn off bind mode on the transmitter, (you can leave the transmitter on, just get out of bind mode), and then turn the receiver back on again, it seems to work fine. This is what Frsky actually tells us to do.

Things that might confuse this-
-Receiver light is steady green much of the time, this in not in the instructions as a valid mode. (at least for the S6R)
-If you try to put the receiver in bind mode with the transmitter off, you get a steady green light with the S6R. However, the receiver is actually in bind mode at this time. If you put the transmitter in bind mode, the lights change to the proper ones. (green on, red flashing) Complete the bind procedure and all is well.
-I have a suspicion that if a receiver has never been bound, then one migtht get the proper green and flashing red lights when powering up the receiver without a transmitter on. But this needs to be tested. Maybe a firmware install on the receiver would create this condition. As I said, I'm not sure, but I swear it happened once.
Jan 08, 2018, 10:46 AM
Registered User
Hello. I would like to ask how you solved the problem with paring and solid green color.
Thanks...
P.
Mar 09, 2018, 12:50 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by padluke
Hello. I would like to ask how you solved the problem with paring and solid green color.
Thanks...
P.
The post just above your question worked for me.
Apr 07, 2018, 11:01 AM
Registered User
cgraf's Avatar
I had the same issue on my Taranis X7. I bought 2 receivers directly and had some doubts that both were dead...

My solution was to update the firmware of the receivers using the s.bus (update directly using the X7,
AND, and I think this solved the issue, updated the internal module of the X7.
The problem here was to find an appropriate .frk file to write the firmware.
It was not clear to me that I had to take it from here: https://www.frsky-rc.com/xjt/
As I was not aware that you have to choose this one, which is declared as external module on the web site.

I bought the transmitter online in Asia, but the receivers locally in Europe. Probably the error was that the two regions did not match...

Anyway, I spent the whole afternoon but get everything running.

Hope this helps other saving time...

Regards
Christoph
May 25, 2018, 09:31 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgraf
I had the same issue on my Taranis X7. I bought 2 receivers directly and had some doubts that both were dead...

My solution was to update the firmware of the receivers using the s.bus (update directly using the X7,
AND, and I think this solved the issue, updated the internal module of the X7.
The problem here was to find an appropriate .frk file to write the firmware.
It was not clear to me that I had to take it from here: https://www.frsky-rc.com/xjt/
As I was not aware that you have to choose this one, which is declared as external module on the web site.

I bought the transmitter online in Asia, but the receivers locally in Europe. Probably the error was that the two regions did not match...

Anyway, I spent the whole afternoon but get everything running.

Hope this helps other saving time...

Regards
Christoph
This post fixed my binding issues after updating XJT port on my Q7 .
Thanks Christoph !
May 31, 2018, 01:46 PM
Registered User
Thanks Cristoph, your hint helped me out.
I bought a X7 in January this year and updated the internal XJT module to then non EU Version. I've been sure to have the latest version. Obviously 2017-05-21 170317 is different from what I used in January.
Anyway I'm happy having sorted this issue :-)

Regards,
Andreas
May 31, 2018, 03:52 PM
Registered User
It doesn't say it in the notes but the 2017-05-21 170317 XJT update fixes a binding problem with the Q-X7. I would have thought recent Q-X7 batches would have the latest firmware but maybe not.
Sep 02, 2018, 03:59 AM
Done Posting, Gone Flying
JNJO's Avatar
For anyone having the flashing red/green after binding S6R/S8R, try selecting a reciever number 50 and below.


EDIT:
Not the whole story.
The following reciever number works fine: 00, 03, 04, 07, 09 and 10.
Not working reciever numbers are: 01, 02, 05, 06, 08.

I believe I found a pattern, although I did not test extensively or very scientifically; Any receiver number ending with either 1, 2, 5, 6 or 8 will not work.
Last edited by JNJO; Sep 03, 2018 at 03:53 PM. Reason: Found what may be the problem.
Sep 07, 2018, 08:43 PM
Registered User
The odd-even problem with the S receivers has been reported before but generally it was only an issue for older XJT modules and original X9D and possibly some early X9D+ TXs

It's a strange bug.


Quick Reply
Message:

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion FrSky Binding Problem - RX wont go into bind mode squishio2 Radios 9 Sep 17, 2018 02:52 AM
Discussion Frsky XM+ will not bind if RSSI pad used? mactac FPV Equipment 2 Apr 28, 2017 09:21 AM
Discussion Flysky FS-iA6B will not enter into binding mode bleede Multirotor Drone Electronics 1 Dec 27, 2016 10:26 AM
Help! Blade Nano CPS will not bind in 'stability mode' mxlothar Beginner Training Area (Heli-Electric) 6 Jul 11, 2016 09:40 PM
Question FrSky DJT Module Wont go Into Binding Mode in 9XR MarylandFly Multirotor Drone Talk 1 Aug 11, 2014 06:55 PM