Anyone make their own sails? - RC Groups
Aug 04, 2017, 07:58 PM
Discussion

Anyone make their own sails?

I've started to play around with the idea of scratch building sailboats and land yachts. Since I mainly build scratch built fast airboats and have NO idea of how to sail or whats even needed in RC for a sail anything to work... I figured I'd ask the people who play with them often and might know a thing or two about sailing!

I'm not good with the sailing terminology but I am learning through some basic research on the internet so bear with me!

I've made a rc land yacht (pics below) and winged every part of the build basing measurements of what materials I had, what looked good to me, and what I could find pictures of on the internet.

The one main question I have is how do people make the boom attach to the mast and how do you keep the boom down in the wind?

I'm using fishing weights at the end of the boom and the stronger the winds the more weight I need to hang.

The second question is how are sails made and attached to the mast and boom? I have a ton of ripstop nylon that I made my first attempt from but it looks bad and I was wondering if anyone had ideas on this?! I used a soldering iron to cut the sail out and burn holes to wire the sail to the yacht.

Anyways pics below! Please look them over and pick this thing apart if you will! You won't hurt my feelings and the help will be greatly appreciate!

Allan
to remove ads between posts
Aug 04, 2017, 08:15 PM
Two recommendations.......

1. Go to the AMYA website and to the 1 meter class pages. Download the construction manual which covers all aspects of model sailboat building rigging, etc. While there check out all of the recognized sail boat classes of different sizes. Use the search feature on this forum to see specific information on classes that interest you.