Odd/Rare North Pacific Products or other RTF "dime store" models - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Jul 15, 2017, 03:28 PM
Discussion

Odd/Rare North Pacific Products or other RTF "dime store" models

Hi, all!
I just got another "oddball" model from North Pacific Products, one of the "Tuffoam" models from the late 70's. It's the " Buzzer", a low wing, all foam rubber powered model. The more I search for NP and other "dimestore" RTF models, the more I realize that I have very little knowledge of how many different models were actually made.

With that in mind, post up your rare or oddball stuff you may have in your collection or just remember from when you had them.

BTW, it's missing the red plastic wing clip. It uses the "inverted" wing clip, like on the older NPP "Jet Flyer Shooting Glider" catapult glider. If anyone has a spare, I'd be interested in making an offer for the clip or the whole glider so I don't have to keep swapping clips between my two models when I want to fly one or the other.

Name: NP Buzzer.jpg
Views: 50
Size: 49.3 KB
Description:

Tommy
Last edited by LS6 Tommy; Jul 30, 2017 at 07:42 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Jul 15, 2017, 07:39 PM
Good thread topic! Edit - sorry, this is not quite RTF...

How about this one - Airlane Model Co. A2D Skyshark. All sheet 50 cent model from the early 1950s. I copied the parts and plans and built one this spring - it flies surprisingly well. Flew it again today, as a matter of fact. I've also picked up an Airlane MiG-15, but haven't built it yet.

170216 Airlane Skyshark with Build Photos (1 min 43 sec)

Mike
Last edited by MKellyvich; Jul 17, 2017 at 03:47 PM. Reason: Because I re-read the thread title...
Jul 17, 2017, 02:31 PM
I got over a 1 min flight with an astro-gnat....it is one of there smallest models, I did modify by sanding, adding more airfoil camber and I put in polyhedral as well, fun little model!
Jul 19, 2017, 03:08 AM
Do you know about this website?