Cloud Niner - Bill Winter design - K&B 65 to electric - RC Groups
Jul 14, 2017, 07:54 PM
Segelflugzeug esgeht nach oben
Discussion

Cloud Niner - Bill Winter design - K&B 65 to electric

A scratch build from RCM plans....I started this one with intention of putting the K&B 65 sportster glo engine in it.
After I read up on the issues with that engine I decided to go electric.

I'm relatively new to this electric thing...I've done four...all sailplanes and vintage oldtimers...an Oly 650 on a brush can motor and a Mega Pepper on a geared speed 400, a Skybench Big Bird sailplane with a direct drive Phasoar, and a Lanzo Bomber.

This will be my largest electric so far.

I've enjoyed flying the Eflite 480 on my Lanzo Bomber - so I decided on an Eflite 60 motor.

Question now, after reading past postings on the Eflite 60 ESC for the Eflite 60 motor - I'm considering ditching the EFlite 60 ESC and going for an 80 amp on the speed control.
I don't plan on doing aerobatics with this...just exploring the STOL features it was designed for - and thermaling.
So I'm not sure if I would be approaching the upper limit of the 60 A ESC....

Don't have an AUW on this yet...but specs on the Glo version said 7 - 8 lbs.

I'm interested in hearing from anyone that has had experience with the Efite 60 motor and what ESC you used....
- or anyone that has built and flown a Cloud Niner.
Last edited by AllThumbs; Jul 14, 2017 at 09:26 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Jul 14, 2017, 08:22 PM
There are two Power 60 models. One has Kv=400rpm/V and the other has Kv=470 rpm/V. Which do you have?

What batteries are you intending to use?

What size prop is it?

Those answers are necessary to predict whether you are approaching the upper limit of the ESC.

My expectation is that a power system for a 71" 8lb non-aerobatic model using either Power 60 would use 5 or 6S batteries and will not need to draw more than about 45A so a 60A ESC should be more than adequate.
Jul 14, 2017, 09:21 PM
Quote: