Jul 14, 2017, 01:40 PM
Mini-Review

AKK FPV Products Review and Comparisons: Great value!

First of all, thanks to AKK for the chance to review the following FPV camera/VTX products!

AKK A3
AKK KC02
AKK KC03
AKK KC04

About me:
Personally I've been flying RC aircraft for 30+ years and some form of FPV quads for about 1 1/2 years. I don't consider myself an expert in FPV but I have experienced several pieces/combinations of "junk" FPV equipment than simply weren't viable for FPV flight for various reasons. I find all of these AKK products to be a great value for their features!

Testing procedure:
I did not do range tests on these units, as they are of different MW ratings. For each camera I mounted to a camera drone gimbal (two at a time), performed a low level turn (camera outwards) below tree level and then a similar higher altitude turn (above the trees). All this was recorded on a set of goggles with diversity receivers and an integrated DVR. Due to a technical problem with the DVR, one recording (the KC04) was recorded on a different day, so it is possible the lighting conditions were not exactly the same.

The AKK A3 product is an integrated camera and VTX. The other products (KC02, KC03, KC04) were all tested with the AKK KC33 VTX (600 MW with RaceBand). Although I did not officially compare VTX options in this review, I will state that I've personally used an AKK X1 (similar to their current X1P model, just without the extended antenna lead) in my camera drone. It is a switchable MW VTX 25/200/600 with RaceBand. It has performed very well for me over the past months. The other differences between K1/K1p and the K33 model used here are: Single LED/Single switch (K1 or K1P) vs multiple switch/multiple LED. Therefore the K33 is a bit easier to change bands and frequencies, but isn't switchable MW like the K1/K1P. Other than that, very good performance out of both!