Oct 26, 2004, 07:52 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Stinson voyager 108-3 build

This is my first build thread so please correct anything i am doing wrong. I love scratch building and i purchased the sinson voyager 108-3 plans off Rc modeler. These plans were designed by Pat Tritle and i love the look of this plane (Thanks Pat!)

I later emailed Pat asking if there had been any updates on the model or setup since it has been a few years, orginally it ran on:

speed 400 geared 2.3:1
6 cell 600mah
standard rx and 2 sub micro servos

He replied with a new setup to fly it lighter, slower and longer!

280 4:1
10-7 APC Slow Fly prop
2 Sub Micro servos
5A ESC - i will be using a 8amp and a 4-Channel 4.7 grams/ 0.16 oz rx
700 3C lipo
Acording to Pat this = something like 14oz and 30 minute durications!

extra:

wingspan: 48"
cord: 7"
Wing Area: 313sq. in.
Airfoil: Flat bottom 12% thick with 40% high point

Due to my very small working area i can't get much done, but i what to take it slow anyway, Oh and at the moment im using CA glue, is there any other glues i should get, like epoxy?

Thanks guys
James

~~here is a pic of the stinson and my bench to see how small i mean, and yes i did block one door off in my room for more space ~~
to remove ads between posts
Oct 26, 2004, 09:03 AM
Hey, any space is better than none! And even with a big bench, I do well to keep a couple square feet open for actual building. The rest ends up storage space for all maner of things that just end up on the workbench. Sanding blocks, glue, clamps, knives, mail, etc... it's a constant battle!

Start with medium and thin CA, I use mostly medium. Thin is handy now and then, but can be a mess as it wants to run and wick all over the place. Some 5-minute epoxy is handy once in a while. But I think you could build that whole plane with medium CA, some 150 grit sandpaper, and an X-acto knife...and maybe some pliers and a screwdriver and a drill bit or two...

Good luck and keep us posted,

ericm