DYS1104 motor rewind for higher Kv - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Jun 21, 2017, 07:12 AM
Brisbane, Australia
Mini-HowTo

DYS1104 motor rewind for higher Kv

I'm going to attempt to rewind some DYS1104 5400Kv to around 9000 or 10000Kv for a friend to try. I decided to document it so that any others interested in rewinding these tiny little motors might find this useful to help get started in rewinding.

So why would we want say 9000Kv or 10000Kv - the reason is we are using very light 2.5" frames, and light 300mAh 2S batteries, and so far, Kv's of 7500Kv and 8000Kv have been performing very well, so we want to find the Kv upper limit for this setup where there is no point going any higher in Kv.

A bit of background on myself - I am a total novice rewinder having rewound about 7 sets of cheap quad motors from 2403 size down to 1105 size. I have rewound 2 sets of 1105/1106 motors and they are more difficult than larger motors due to the tiny size. So please keep this in mind if you follow this thread, that I am still learning as I go, and by no means good at this. I also encourage more experienced rewinders to correct me or help me if/when I veer off track.

Also, I am extremely thankful to all the motor rewinders who have shared their knowledge on rcgroups, without that, I probably could not have started rewinding at all.

I had these DYS1104 5400Kv motors on an old 3" frame, it had not flown a lot from memory and checking the frame and motors for dings and scratches confirms this. I put some props on it 2 days ago and flew it again and the motors sounded quite OK, so they were chosen for this rewind project.

Next I disconnected the motor wires from the esc's to be ready for the drill press which is used to measure the Kv. By knowing the (real) Kv, and counting the turns on each tooth when I unwind the stators, I can get an idea of how many turns are needed for the rewind to get to 9000-10000Kv.